Smoking / Vaping


Smoking/Vaping and chewing tobacco are prohibited for all persons on school grounds, in school vehicles, and in school athletic stadiums. Smoking is defined as “the burning of, inhaling of, exhaling the smoke from, or the possession of a lighted cigar, cigarette, pipe or any other matter or substance which contains tobacco or any other matter that can be smoked, or the inhaling or exhaling of smoke or vapor from an electronic smoking device” (N.J.S.A. 26:3D-57).  Any student seen with a cigarette, electronic/vaping device, cigar, cigarillo, pipe, chewing tobacco, snus, snuff or cigarette lighter on his/her person whether lit or not, including inhaling or exhaling smoke from a device which contains tobacco or any other matter shall be in violation of the Student Smoking Policy Board of Education Policy – 5533 of the school district, and the State of New Jersey (New Jersey Public Law, 1981, Chapter 320, Smoking in Institutions Providing Education or Training). Further, any student who attempts to impede the enforcement of the policy by serving as a “lookout” for violators or in any way hinders enforcement, will also be subject to disciplinary consequences including Saturday detention or suspension.

Consequences for smoking/vaping, possession of vaping paraphernalia and tobacco products:

  • Any student smoking/vaping, seen with or in possession of tobacco products, including electronic smoking devices or their cartridges/oils/waxes/chargers or other components, and/or smoking/vaping while on school grounds will be subject to a three (3) day in-school suspension and, where permissible by statute, will have a complaint filed against them with the municipal court. 
  • Violators are subject to fines of not less than $250 for a first offense, $500 for a second offense, and $1000 for each subsequent offense (N.J.S.A. 26:3D-62(b).  
  • Also, since the contents of an electronic smoking device cannot be determined through casual observation or easily tested to determine if the contents are tobacco or controlled dangerous substances, students in possession of electronic smoking devices/components may also be considered under suspicion of being under the influence of drugs while at school as would a student in possession of anything that would constitute drug paraphernalia. Therefore, the school may contact a parent/guardian, who must immediately take the student for a drug screen and physician’s clearance. 
  • A positive screen or verified possession of drugs/alcohol will result in five (5) days of in-school suspension for a first offense (ten (10) days for each subsequent offense), five (5) mandatory drug counseling sessions with an HHS Student Assistance Counselor, as well as loss of parking privileges / ineligibility for all school activities for a minimum of 30 days pending completion of the required counseling sessions. Should a student test positive for a controlled dangerous substance or be in possession of verified drugs/paraphernalia, the suspension for that offense will replace the lesser suspension for a smoking violation, although a municipal complaint will still be filed with the potential for escalation to criminal charges as a drug offense.